The ways of other bloggers

I took a look at a couple of different blogs to get an idea of how others go about writing posts as well as how they look in comparison to mine. I tried to look and see if I felt their blog was effective in both their writing and their layout.

The first blog I looked at the Aquarium Drunkard. The first thing I noticed was that there were a few pictures as well as a the title right at the top. I liked the fact that at the top right there was a quick blurb telling what the blog is about.  There was about one picture per post which is about enough for how long the posts were. I think that this blogs posts are broken up well between pictures and Q&A.

The posts also almost always include different links as well as mp3 downloads. There were a few different pages that you could navigate between, there were about five different page links which is a good number. I feel that any more than five would be a sort of overload of information, as a blogger I don’t want to confuse anyone reading with too much information.

I have no idea who Nick Hornby is. There are 10 links on the very top of his page and unfortunately they are all in mildly difficult font to read. After some digging I found out he is a journalist who are written a number of books including Fever Pitch which was rather popular and turned into a movie.

To be upfront I do not like this blog, I think that the way he blocks his writing is to much of a digital immigrant style. He writes very long paragraphs about things that truly don’t interest me. He has two lists on the side ,one is an archive of his blog dating back to July 2007 and the other shows categories which are extensive and unhelpful in navigating the page. I also think he needs to work on titles for his blogs… “This just in…” is lame I’m not trying to watch the news. When he makes lists he doesn’t use any type of bullet points or numbering he just hits enter for a new line, I would rather see something like this…

Things I don’t like about Nicks Blog

  • The lists on the sidebar
  • The lack of pictures in long posts
  • The non-energetic super lamesauce post titles
  • Long ass posts

All in all for me this blog is ineffective.

This blog is more within my interests. When I got to the homepage I scrolled down and immediately found something of interest. While this shows promise I must doubt its true effectiveness because of how the post caught my interest…

HUGE BOLD LETTERS(Now that got your attention!)

Yes, this did help them get my attention, in that way it was successful. However when I read the post they used terminology without explaining the meaning behind the terms as if they expected me to know what a transaction tag on a restricted free agent. It also is an overload on links, there is no actual blog post on its main page only links in various sizes to get to actual posts. This is not a terrible thing but I do feel that there is a way to make it so you get a little article along with you links.

So in looking at these blogs I must turn to my own. What could I do better in my own posting, how do I create something interesting and yet informative within itself. Please let me know what you think could be done with my blog to ensure that my readers are getting the most out of their window into my brain? Let me know if you so please in a comment or an email to tstyx01@hamlineuniversity.edu

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

