Home at Last!

It was a crazy 21 days abroad with many amazing new experiences. I can’t begin to describe how happy I am to be back with my family and friends as well as being able to sleep in my own bed. Seriously nothing compares to coming back to what you know and love but although I am really happy that I have come home that’s not to say I didn’t absolutely love my Olympic Quest. I feel as though if we hadn’t jumped around every few days to a new country coming home would have been a little different. When I began college at Hamline it was a few short weeks before my dorm room felt more like home than my home did, I feel like this is because I had a solid place to stay, whereas with this trip we jumped around so much that I never was able to get comfortable in my hotel room. If I had been able to spend a few weeks in any of the places that I went through on this journey I believe that it would have shortly become a home to me and would then have been a little harder to leave.

Another thing that I have noticed coming home is that I am extremely tired, nearly exhausted. I was surprised about this because I’d felt as though making the time changes throughout this trip I had recovered from the jet-lag extraordinarily fast. I was mildly proud of that fact but since I returned on Saturday I’ve been getting about 10 hours of sleep and yet am still dragging my feet throughout the day. I am thinking that this may have to do once again with the whole fact that we were jumping around from place to place. I believe that because I was constantly on the move my body realized that I didn’t have to time to really notice the time differences. So it wasn’t so much that I wasn’t noticing the time change it was that my body was building up resilience to it and storing my exhaustion up until it could resurface, which it has now done since I returned.

I have loved traveling on this Olympic Quest and I can’t wait to trek down to Gustavus in order to see all of the new friends that I have made on this journey. I hope that we will be able to keep in touch because so many times when you go on the experience of a lifetime with people so far away it is so hard to keep in touch afterwards. But in the very least you will always have those wonderful memories from the adventures you have all shared. 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

