The Hunt is on…for an Internship

Just last Tuesday I spent nearly five hours going from booth to booth trying to show the numerous employers at the Small College Job Fair located at the Minneapolis Convention Center just how employable I am. For the most part I had a great time and found the conversations I had to be very enjoyable but there were a few things that frustrated myself and many of the students.

Number 1: I personally talked to upwards of 50 people and gave close to 40 of them my resume. It seemed to me that the conversations I had were excellent and I felt as though my charm and personality showed that I would be a very good hire. After 20 or 30 minutes of solid conversation the employers would begin to wrap up the conversation and it was my hope that they would ask me for an interview but nearly every time I was told to “visit the company’s website and apply online” if felt to me that I had spent a decent amount of time gaining a connection and by telling me to apply online they made it seem as though my time was wasted. If I had known that they would have just told me to apply online I would have done just that… and only that. Only a couple of the booths made it clear to me that they would be keeping track of who had come by and while they wouldn’t get preferential treatment they would be highly considered.

Number 2: For several different majors this job fair was a gold mine. As a marketing major I felt as though I had many great opportunities to network and put my name out there for a position. If however I had been a finance, accounting, or computer science major it would have been extraordinary just how many of these companies would be interested in hiring. It seemed that even places that said they wanted marketing majors were much more interested to know if I was in those three fields and when I told them that I had taken classes in the area it peaked their interest. For those students who are searching for jobs pertaining to law, teaching, history, philosophy, and many others there were very slim pickings.

Number 3: There we so many of us. I felt rushed at a majority of the booths because I had other students from rival schools in the MIAC breathing down my neck waiting for their shot. I wish that I had gone to my morning class and arrived closer to noon, the best talk I had from the entire day with a marketer in Findlaw working at Thomson Reuters. This was easily my favorite because we were able to talk at length about all the different opportunities that would be at Thomson and I gained very valuable insight into how the company operates. It was close to 12:30 when I began talking with several people at their booth and it was clear to me that it was exceptionally easy for me to chat with them. I did not have a huge line waiting behind me and overall the fair was beginning to slow down. I was able to ask them more personal questions about their own experience which made the conversation really stick in my mind.

Overall it was a pretty decent experience and I plan on going back to the fair next year and hopefully will find more success. In the job club that my marketing class has created we will be working on writing cover letters and moving on to the next step in our journey to a career.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

