“Creativity is the Residue of Time Wasted” – Albert Einstein

Thank you Mr. Einstein! I know that the phrase wasting time has some bad connotations that come with it but at the same time there is evidence proving those connotations to be false… well, false in the sense of creativity. Some of the best ideas I’ve ever had have come when I am just “shootin the shit” with friends out to eat, having a drink, playing beach volleyball. When I discuss my schedule with other students in classes as well as with my good friends we have such a difficult time finding a time to meet up. Everyone is way too busy! Ensuring that we have a bit of time to actually follow Einsteins suggestion is the key to not exploding with stress.

When I talk about completely pointless things with my  friends different jokes, stories, and the continuous dishing of crap makes me think of different connections that I would never have before.

‘‘Creativity is just connecting things. When you ask creative people how they did something, they feel a little guilty because they didn’t really do it, they just saw something. It seemed obvious to them after a while. That’s because they were able to connect experiences they’ve had and synthesize new things. And the reason they were able to do that was that they’ve had more experiences than other people.’ -Steve Jobs

So with this long weekend it is my suggestion to all the students out there to not just participate in Thirsty Thursday with gusto but also to go out and do something recreational. Waste your time! You never know what you’ll come up with.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Bigfoot

     /  April 11, 2012

    Can I waste your time? Maybe by leaving a comment that doesn’t really say anything I am wasting your time! Did you come up with anything while while reading this comment?

    On a side note, some people actually have a deficit of creativity. I have known some who “can’t think their way out of a paper bag” as an instructor of mine put it. Some people are just talented in that sense. It should be societies duty to support those people and allow them to waste as much time as they can in hopes that they would then come up with something brilliant for the worker bees to then put into practice. Just kidding.

    But seriously, its never a waste of time to just relax. You can fell more trees if you take breaks and sharpen the axe. Relaxing is just sharpening the axe of your mind. You just can’t sharpen all the time.

    P.S. Serious about wasting your time!

    Reply
    • You are wise beyond your years Bigfoot. I appreciate you wasting my time, helping me to sharpen my mind-axe. While you are forcing me to wade through your clever jokes and endless wit your points are always fantastic. We definitely agree on the fact that you should not attempt to “waste time” all the time. If you tirelessly sharpen the axe you’ll never get around to chopping wood to last you the winter… that is of course if you don’t have a central heating system installed yet.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

