Facegram… Instabook… How Will the Merger Affect Instagram

There has been quite the explosion over the news that Facebook has purchased Instagram for $1 billion and the majority of it has been extremely negative. I found this article HERE that was both negative and optimistic. I believe this author really hit the nail on the head as far as how Facebook should handle this merger, taking a google & youtube approach as opposed to the many other messy mergers that killed some great products. I don’t yet have an iphone but one of the things that I’m most excited about is the ability to take solid pictures anytime I want and with my current phones camera being broken I really miss the ability.

One thing that really sticks out from the article and from what many people on twitter seem to be worried about is that this merger will cause Instagram to become a cog in the ever-growing machine that is Facebook. I can see where they are coming from but if FB makes sure to keep instagram a separate entity there could be fantastic opportunities for growth with the social media powerhouses resources. With the uproar and people leaving the site so that facebook didn’t have their photos anymore I must say that I think the general public is overreacting. I’m excited to see where this is going and I don’t think that Zuckerberg will screw this up. What do you think? Let me know in the comments below!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

