Undergrad Business Majors: Are We Screwed?

An article I read for class focuses on the way that business programs are changing to create more innovative, “think outside the bun” type of business students. You can check it out on The Wall Street Journal The title doesn’t seems to completely fit with the article but I really did enjoy the line, “The undergraduate degrees focus too much on the nuts and bolts of finance and accounting and don’t develop enough critical thinking and problem-solving skills,” and while I left out the part about writing long essays (gross) I completely agree with that here at Hamline. While the Hamplan forces us to take a broad range of classes, I would have much rather taken classes that are interesting and relate more to marketing as opposed to say managerial accounting or finance.

“Firms are looking for talent. They’re not looking for content knowledge, per se,” This of all the lines in the entire article speaks volumes for me. I know a few people who’ve been outside the world of academia for a few years who say that they really haven’t used much of anything that their degree taught them in the actual business world. It seems as though most of what we learn comes from the job or training for the job and the rest comes from the talent we already possess. I’m not trying to say that there is no reason to get the degree (I am still here) but more that learning facts and theories can only get you so far and without a decent amount of talent you’ll just stall.

Years back if you had an undergrad degree you got a job… now it’s beginning to look like we need to go and get our masters. Will this soon transfer to the doctorate? I refuse to go through that much school so I really hope this isn’t the way its going to go. What do you think? Are we progressing to a world full of Dr’s?

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Bigfoot

     /  April 11, 2012

    Well usually doctors don’t do a lot of hard work. So their muscles are usually very tender. Better for eating and easier to catch.

    Reply
    • Well as you are Bigfoot this is really an excellent developement in human society for you! Especially concidering that, from what I know, your livelihood doen’t require you to go to school. Maybe you should go into business… it seems like you’re thinking outside the box and could really contribute.

      Reply
      • Bigfoot

         /  April 11, 2012

        Why? Bigfoot doesn’t need money or stuff. I have complete freedom in the woods. I can go to the bathroom anywhere. Live wherever I want. I even have entertainment, watching humans, commenting on blogs, youtube. Life is great.

      • You are living the life! It was just a thought, incase letting silly humans spot you and taking off into the woods ever got boring (not that it would). If you ever would like to do a guest post on my blog let me know, I’m sure the masses would love to hear what you’ve got to say.

Leave a Reply

