WOD #2: Goals!

I have some major goals in this post the first of which is to be able to complete a double unders workout with no single skips. To those of you unfamiliar with Crossfit, or if you are familiar, but also happen to be just awful at this movement there is an instructional video below. My plan is to start out every workout I go to working on this motion. I know how to row 400meters but I can’t seem to get more than 3 of these stinking things done in a row.

I was feeling pretty good going into the gym today after yesterdays workout. Little sore in the triceps but overall rested and fully recovered. Just like every day we warm up with stretches, but on top of that used a light band and pvc pipe. Coach Alex went through the Snatch motion highlighting the importance of the position of the bar as it travels up overhead… key word there is up, you want to make sure that the bar is still close to your body.

Snatch: 

2-2-2-2-2

90-115-115-135-135(fail on #2)

One thing that I was struggling with on this movement came with fluidity of my form. Overall my positioning is pretty solid but the Coaches talked to me about the hip thrust and catching in the squat position. Right now I need to work on speed, getting the bar up and dropping down underneath it.

AMRAP – 8 Minutes:

1/1, 2/2, 3/3, 4/4 Reps: 5+12

Deadlift (185/133) (185!!!)
Box Jumps (32/28) (26)

I half RX’d this workout. This brings me to goal #2. I want to become an RX Crossfitter. This means that whatever the prescribed amount of weight per workout is, thats the weight I use. This was a great workout and helped me realize that that was my biggest goal aside from increase in overall fitness. I was able to deadlift the RX amount because I have always liked leg day (I know I’m weird) but you tend to like what your good at and years of track and nordic skiing prepped me well. I need to improve my confidence with the box jumps but that will definitely come with time.

Short term goals: Become a competent Double Underer (?) by March

Long term goals: Become an RX Crossfit Athlete by 2015

Both of these goals will take a bunch of work, loads of practice, and a good Positive Attitude. I think I’ll keep posting a list of goals each time both to remind myself and you about what I’m trying to accomplish. Hold me to it people.

Mobility:

Rotator Cuff Strengthening – on top of this we spent time rolling out our lower backs with a lacrosse ball.

What kind of fitness goals do you have big or small? Let me know in the comments below!

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. WOD #3: Burpees, the Life-Blood of Crossfit | Timothy J. Styx

Leave a Reply

